My Birthday Part 1: Veg Fest Vancouver

My birthday was last weekend and it was a lovely day full of friends, family, and a tonne of awesome vegan food! The 3rd annual Veg Fest Vancouver just happened to fall on my birthday this year, so of course Jem and I had to check it out! I took the opportunity to try a bunch of food from companies and places I’ve never tried before. Needless to say, I’ve got a lot to share with you!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

IMG_2910

First up, we shared a plate of vegetable pakoras from the food truck Varinicey Pakoras (pronounced ‘very nice ee’). We got the Original which included carrots, yams, kale, and swiss chard. These were delicious, and the sweet mango chutney and spicy pickles were really nice additions. They also serve a few different varieties of pakoras, a mango coconut smoothie, and fresh chai tea with almond milk. Except for the yogurt-based raita, everything is vegan and gluten-free.

Next, we couldn’t resist buying a couple caramels from In The Oven. We choose the coconut and the dark chocolate coffee flavours. We shared the coconut one right away and I had the dark chocolate coffee one for dessert that night. They were both pretty amazing! Very sweet, so not something I would eat often, but a really nice treat.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After meeting up with some friends, we headed to the Loving Hut Express food truck for lunch. I was looking forward to trying the Crispy Chick’n Burger I’ve heard raves about, but it was all sold out by the time our turn came. Instead, Jem and I both got the Bacon Cheese Burger (all vegan, like everything on the truck), piled high with crispy bacon, cheese sauce, mayo, tomato, red onion, and lettuce. We waited about 30 minutes for our burgers and it was well worth it! The burgers were so big we could barely finish them, but I can honestly say it was one of the best (and messiest) veggie burgers I’ve ever had! And I’m pretty sure everyone in our group, even the non-vegans, enjoyed theirs just as much.

IMG_2912

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Later on, after some more exploring of Veg Fest, Jem bought me a birthday cupcake from Fairy Cakes, since I wouldn’t be having a birthday cake later on. I choose the chocolate lime cupcake. Jem had a chocolate raspberry one, and our friend David also had the lime one. I’m not usually big on bought cake or cupcakes, because normally find them too sweet for my tastes, but these weren’t overly sweet. The lime flavour wasn’t really prominent but the cupcake was very moist and delicious!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All in all I thoroughly enjoyed my day at Veg Fest Vancouver! It is a free outdoor festival, which took over three blocks of Vancouver’s Granville Street on July 27th. In addition to vegan food vendors, there were also tables for many animal protection organizations and other vegan-friendly local businesses, many with free samples and items for sale. This was my first time at the festival and I would definitely go again. It was really nice to see so many great vegan and local vendors in the same place, giving us a chance to easily try a variety of things from many different places. I also really liked that the set-up of the festival along Granville street, and the fact that it was free, left us free to wander in and out of the festival area throughout the day.

IMG_2914

IMG_2919

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Check out My Birthday Part 2: Wild Rice.
After our day at Veg Fest and exploring downtown Vancouver a bit, we headed to the New Westminster Quay for a family dinner at the amazing and vegan-friendly Wild Rice. It’s a good thing we were walking around the whole day, otherwise I don’t think we would’ve had any room to enjoy dinner!

5 thoughts on “My Birthday Part 1: Veg Fest Vancouver

  1. Oh what a super fun way to spend your birthday!!! The veg fest looks really fun, with lots of great food. Happy Birthday!!!! =D

  2. Pingback: My Birthday Part 2: Wild Rice | One Small Vegan

  3. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #136: Vegan In Victoria | One Small Vegan

Leave a Reply

