Frosted Blueberry Cake: MMAZ #30

BWV-Round2-April_thumb

For this week’s Meatless Monday from A-Z the mission is to cook a recipe that features blueberries. I haven’t made any of the recipes yet from last week’s Create with Blueberries linkup, but I did make this gorgeous Frosted Blueberry Cake from Healthy Happy Life.

For the past couple of years I’ve volunteered to make the birthday cakes (one for each sister) for my sisters’ birthday. Birthdays are a great excuse to try out a sweeter-than-usual dessert that I’ve been eyeing, and doing the baking, guarantees I’ll actually be able to eat something come dessert time. This year I couldn’t pass up Jem’s request for this Frosted Blueberry Cake.

IMG_1786

What I really love about this cake is that the actual cake is not too sweet, and pretty darn healthy. The flax, oats, applesauce, blueberries, and walnuts do the double duty of making the cake taste great, and providing some actual nutrients, instead of just empty calories. Without the frosting, this cake is more like a snack-cake than a true dessert, but as soon as you add the amazing coconut frosting, it is elevated to a beautiful dessert, perfect for any occasion. And the frosting really is amazing!

IMG_1770

I did make a couple of minor changes to the original recipe:
– I used whole wheat flour instead of all purpose flour. I rarely even buy all purpose flour anymore, and I’m always pleased with the results I get using whole wheat flour. As usual, when substituting whole wheat flour, I just had to add an extra little splash of nondairy milk when mixing the wet and dry together.
– I used ground flaxseeds.
– I choose to use coconut sugar.
– I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk in place of the soy milk.
– I couldn’t find any fresh blueberries, so I used frozen blueberries in the cake, and fresh raspberries for decorating.

In regards to the options listed in the original recipe, I used almond extract, I didn’t use any cinnamon, and I used walnuts.

IMG_1762IMG_1767

IMG_1772IMG_1773

IMG_1776

IMG_1778

IMG_1783

We really enjoyed this cake, and I will absolutely be using both the cake recipe and the frosting recipe again!

IMG_1789

I’ve shared this post with Slightly Indulgent Tuesday 4/23/13.

You May Also Enjoy:
Title, Berry Chia Jam

Title, Blueberry Oat Scones

Dark Chocolate Cranberry Tart

Dark Chocolate Cranberry Tart

4 thoughts on “Frosted Blueberry Cake: MMAZ #30

  1. Pingback: Smoked Tofu Benedict with Mushrooms and Arugula | One Small Vegan

  2. Pingback: Dark Chocolate S’mores Brownies | One Small Vegan

Leave a Reply

