Vegan Delish: App Review and Giveaway!

Vegan Delish sized for blog use

Recently, Carrie (Carrie On Vegan) offered me the chance to try out her recipe app Vegan Delish for free and of course, I said yes.

I’ll let Carrie tell you what Vegan Delish is all about. The following comes from the press release that she sent me a copy of.

“For new and veteran vegans and vegetarians, plus those wanting to explore the benefits of a plant-based diet, Vegan Delish is a recipe app available for iPhones and iPads featuring innovative tools such as a digital shopping list and searchable categories…Vegan Delish inspires users to make whole food, plant-based meals that are as delicious as they are nutritious…

For the introductory price of only $1.99, users of Vegan Delish receive over 70 recipes including California Kale Salad, Easiest Slow-Cooker Applesauce, Pumpkin Spice Muffins and Butternut Harvest Stew. Plus, once the app is purchased, access is included to all of the new recipes that are added monthly. Best of all, all of the dishes are 100% vegan and made with whole food ingredients.”

iPhone screenshot

I’ve only been using Vegan Delish for a week, but so far I have nothing but praise for it.
I found it very easy to browse through the recipes. This can be done either through an extensive list of categories, an alphebetical recipe list, or a keyword search.
I love that there is a photo for each recipe, and that the photo accompanies the recipe title in each way of viewing the lists of recipes.
I’m finding the ‘Favourites List’ function very helpful. I used it when browsing recipes to keep track of the ones that I want to try first, so they are quick to find next time.
I like the inclusion of user ratings and reviews included within the app (on the pages for each recipe). It’s nice being able to see what other people think about a recipe, and be able to leave your own feedback as well.
It is really nice being able to instantly change the amount of servings you wish to make of each recipe, which then alters all of the ingredient measurements for you. This is particularly helpful for those, like me, that are cooking for one. I like having leftovers, but usually when trying a new recipe, I like to scale it down just in case.
The ability to easily create a shopping list is also a really useful feature, especially since it is so customizable. With a single tap you can add an entire list of ingredients from a recipe, or choose just the ones you need. You can also add your own items to the shopping list.

iPad screenshot

So far, I have tried four different recipes from Vegan Delish, and I really enjoyed all of them. They all tasted great and I’m really loving how easily all of the recipes come together.
Though it was a little thick, the Peanut Butter Sauce was a great addition to my sweet potato and lentil sprout hash. The combination of peanut butter and balsamic vinegar is an unexpected combination that worked way better than I thought it would.
The No-Cook Apple Oatmeal was delicious and perfect for a quick filling meal on a busy morning. I will definitely be making oatmeal like this again.
The Almond Date Balls make great little portable snacks for on-the-go and were perfect for a pre-workout burst of energy. There are recipes for these kind of fruit and nut balls all over the place, but I really like the combination of flavours in these ones and will be making them again, this time in a larger batch.
My favourite recipe so far has been the Avocado Chocolate Pudding. It is rich, creamy, and satisfying with a great chocolate flavour. My blender did have trouble with the dates, but I didn’t mind having little chunks of date in my pudding. (I may try my food processor next time) And I would definitely recommend topping with the cacao nibs if you can, as that chocolatey little crunch is a perfect complement to the pudding. This totally satisfied my chocolate craving and I will definitely be making this again!

IMG_1208IMG_1243

IMG_1239

Overall, I’ve found Vegan Delish to be a great recipe app and a steal for $1.99. It looks great, is simple to use, has lots of great features, and an ever-growing selection of whole food plant-based recipes. I really can’t even think of anything that would make it better.

In addition to giving me Vegan Delish for free, Carrie was also kind enough to provide a copy of her app for one lucky reader. To enter to win a free copy of Vegan Delish just comment on this post telling me either a meal you’ve had recently that you really enjoyed, or one you are looking forward to.

This giveaway will only run for 2 days, until 9pm PST on Friday March 22 and I will randomly draw a winner shortly thereafter. We’ll have to act fast because the code I have expires on March 26th. Good luck! Update: this giveaway is now closed.

Vegan Delish is available in the iTunes store for just $1.99.

 

3 thoughts on “Vegan Delish: App Review and Giveaway!

  1. Today for dinner I had sauteed kale, garlic and beans seasoned with salt, pepper, cayenne & nutritional yeast. It was so filling & delicious. πŸ™‚

    • Teia you are the winner! πŸ™‚ If you could give me your email address (through the contact page or Facebook) then Carrie will send you the code for your copy of Vegan Delish. Remember the code expires on the 26th so we’ve got to be quick about it!

Leave a Reply

