Back to Basics: No-Mayo Coleslaw

IMG_0606

This may look like a boring bowl of shredded cabbage, but please trust me, it is anything but boring. This is my Basic No-Mayo Coleslaw and it boasts a fantastically bright tangy flavour, with just the right hint of sweetness.

I’ve never really been interested in coleslaw before and until a few months ago had never tried making it. All those creamy mayo-based ones have always kind of grossed me out. When I realized a great way to use up that big hunk of cabbage sitting in the fridge (and get a salad out of the deal while I was seriously low on other salad ingredients) would be to try making coleslaw the last thing I was interested in was a creamy vegan-mayo based recipe. After a bit of searching around through recipes I decided on my dressing ingredients. I know that if I cover any salad with a tangy acidic dressing I will have no problem devouring it, so I followed the same rule with this coleslaw.

I’ve made this coleslaw three more times since that last time and I find it seriously addictive. It makes a great side-dish, or an addition to a wrap or taco. I’ve also enjoyed it as is, topped with some spicy saucy lentils. Also, cabbage is usually super cheap, it lasts almost forever, and you probably all the dressing ingredients in your kitchen. So go make coleslaw!

100_3818100_3830

Basic No-Mayo Coleslaw
4 cups shredded cabbage (red or green or both)
2 tbsp lemon or lime juice
1 tbsp red wine vinegar
1 tbsp olive oil (or try Vega Antioxidant Omega Oil Blend)
1 tbsp maple syrup
1/8 tsp sea salt
Fresh ground black pepper

Place all dressing ingredients in a large bowl (large enough for the entire recipe) and whisk until combined. Add cabbage to bowl and toss until dressing covers all of the cabbage. You can enjoy this coleslaw immediately but it will be even better if it sits for a few hours. This will keep in the fridge for a few days. Just stir before eating. Enjoy!

IMG_0112

One of the best things about basic recipes like this one is that they are a great starting point for creating more complicated recipes. You can choose either lemon or lime juice, choose your oil, and even substitute agave for the maple syrup. Also, feel free to substitute part of the cabbage for shredded carrot or broccoli stem (or maybe a pre-packaged coleslaw mix if you’re really short on time and energy). Adding some cayenne pepper or crushed red pepper flakes would make for a spicy coleslaw, or adding one of your favourite spices or herbs could make for a tasty variation. Whatever you choose, you should end up with a delicious coleslaw!

IMG_0609

This recipe has been submitted to Healthy Vegan Friday #28ย and Meatless Mondays A-Z #31 (Create With Cabbage).

the veggie nookBWV-Round2-April_thumb

16 thoughts on “Back to Basics: No-Mayo Coleslaw

  1. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #109: Salad Love | One Small Vegan

  2. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #121 | One Small Vegan

  3. Pingback: Baked Mediterranean Chickpea Burgers | One Small Vegan

  4. Searching for the no mayo slaw for days, saw this and tried it with avocado since I didn’t purchase the cabbage yet, and it was delicious. Finally! Thanks.

  5. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #137 | One Small Vegan

  6. Pingback: My Most Made Recipes | One Small Vegan

  7. Pingback: Top 9 Posts of 2013 | One Small Vegan

Leave a Reply

