What I Ate Wednesday #97

 

I really do like doing these What I Ate Wednesday posts, but I honestly keep forgetting about it until its too late. Then I tell myself I’ll wait until next week, because its no fun if I can’t link up to everyone else’s. Then I forget again!

Anyway, I was a little lazy with the photos, but I’ve actually got a What I Ate Wednesday post for you this week!

Yesterday’s eats:

Breakfast:
Two slices of Silver Hills Mack’s Flax Bread, toasted. One with natural peanut butter and one with Crofter’s Superfruit Spread.
Orange pekoe tea with Original Earth’s Own Almond Fresh Milk.

Mid-Morn:
Coffee with more Almond Fresh Milk.

Lunch:
Double Kale & Squash Pasta – whole wheat pasta with roasted buttercup squash, Kale Pesto, sauteed kale, garlic, crushed red pepper flakes, and Almesan.

Afternoon:
Grande Cafe Americano with a splash of soy milk.
Starbucks Blueberry Oat Bar.

Dinner:
Pizza – whole wheat pita bread (in our house, this is what homemade pizzas are always made on), Summer Fresh Roasted Red Pepper Hummus, spinach, crimini mushrooms, red pepper, artichoke hearts, pickled banana peppers, Bragg Organic Sprinkle Seasoning, Daiya Cheddar Wedge-Style.
I have to say that I make pizzas like this quite often, especially when sharing dinner with my omnivore family (as we can each customize our own), and this was one of the best ones I’ve had in a long time! It was a fantastic mix of vegetables, but I think it was the Daiya that put this over the edge! Have you tried any of the new Daiya wedge-style cheese yet? They are way too good! I really liked the shreds, but the wedge-style ones are so creamy and wonderful that they make me never want to buy the shreds again!

Evening:
So Delicious Mint Chip Coconut Milk ‘Ice Cream‘ – this stuff is so amazing! Perfectly minty, and you can’t really go wrong when you’re half-cup serving of ice cream is loaded with healthy fats, some protein, and 6g of fibre!
Almond Fresh Noel Nog – I tried this for the first time yesterday, and I really enjoyed it.  Creamy and lightly spiced, but not at all heavy. Last year I tried the So Nice Noel Nog and I  didn’t really like it. I have never actually tried traditional egg nog (just the idea of it always grossed me out), so I don’t know how either of them compare to that, but I definitely prefer the Almond Nog to the So NIce Nog.

Not the healthiest of eating days: too much coffee, too much sugar, and somehow I didn’t have any fruit, but I sure did enjoy everything I ate!

Today’s Lunch: Just because it was awesome!
Sauteed zucchini, red pepper, spinach, artichoke hearts, and prepared Casbah Falafels with Bragg Organic Sprinke Seasoning and Sriracha.
Ryvita Sesame Rye Crisp bread with roasted red pepper hummus.

 

 

9 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #97

  1. Aw man Silver Hills bread… I miss that stuff so much! I can’t find the gluten-free version where I am 😦
    That all looks super tasty! I was seriously lamenting not having any “ice-cream” after dinner. I was at Whole Foods today and everything and forgot to pick it up.
    I think your menu for the day sounds pretty fun actually =)

  2. Your Zucchini and Falafel lunch looks so yummy! I’ve been a vegetarian for 5 years now and have trouble finding easy healthy recipes, you make it looks so easy. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • Thanks Tina! When I’m at home and looking for something quick and healthy I have a lot of meals like that where I just throw everything in a pan and season it. Or I stuff whatever I have in a wrap.

  3. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #105 | One Small Vegan

Leave a Reply

