Suzanne’s Ricemellow Creme Review

One of the item’s I received in the September Vegan Food Swap, was a tub of Suzanne’s Ricemellow Creme. I finally bought some Nature’s Path Crispy Rice Cereal so I could make crispy rice squares. I decided to make add in some crunchy peanut butter and mini chocolate chips to make them a really special treat!

I just warmed 1/3 cup crunchy unsalted natural peanut butter, stirred in 1 cup of the Ricemellow Creme, then stirred in 3 cups Crispy Rice and 1/3 cup Enjoy Life Mini Chips until all of the Crispy Rice was coated. Then I pressed it into a lightly greased pan and let it set.

While these Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Crispy Rice Treats tasted really great, they fell apart very easily, and so were quite difficult and messy to eat. They were a little better once I put them in the fridge, but still started falling apart almost as soon as I started eating a piece. I’m guessing this is because the Ricemellow Creme is not a solid to begin with, like marshmallows, so it couldn’t harden up as it cooled, like regular marshmallows would. This stuff made for tasty treats, and I will use the rest of the tub, but I don’t think this is something I would ever purchase again. I’d prefer for my marshmallow treats to not fall apart as I eat them, and not have to be refrigerated.

I also got a package of Dandies Marshmallows from October’s Food Swap and I will let you know how they compare.

Questions:
Have you tried any vegan marshmallow products? What did you think?

Do you have any great recipes, other than crispy rice treats, for using marshmallows or marshmallow creme?

3 thoughts on “Suzanne’s Ricemellow Creme Review

  1. Pingback: September 2012 Canadian Vegan Food Swap | One Small Vegan

  2. I actually have never tried any vegan marshmallow creme before so I can’t say. I did however make a rice crispy style dessert that I’ll be posting in a few days that turned out really well. It holds together pretty well. Now it does get soft somewhat at room temperature, but not bad. I prefer the crunch of them after being in the fridge anyway. Mine definitely didn’t fall apart while eating them..they actually got pretty hard in the fridge. Yours look delicious regardless!!

Leave a Reply

