Chocolate Chip Protein Pancakes with Sugar-Free Blueberry Sauce

Vegan MoFo 2012 Post #19Only one more to go! Barring an unexplained lengthy interruption tomorrow (knock on wood), I will actually have succeeded at writing 20 posts in one month! I don’t think I actually thought I would make it!

I have never really been interested in pancakes. They’ve always seemed way to doughy for me, and then as soon as you pour syrup over top, way too soggy. No thank you!

The only pancakes I’ve ever really enjoyed were the mini pancakes my grandma used to make for my sisters and I. They were nice and thin, probably more like a crepe batter, and we always ate them with butter and icing sugar, rather than syrup. Unfortunately, my grandma has passed away and I have absolutely no idea what the recipe was for her special pancakes. So I’ve pretty much given up on pancakes and focused on other breakfast food. Like waffles, which I absolutely love!

Definitely not the most attractive breakfast, but so good! My Natural Vega One turned these green!

Anyway, these protein pancakes from Sensual Appeal attracted me because they didn’t look like those thick cakey pancakes that everyone seems to enjoy so much. Plus they have chocolate chips! Even though I couldn’t even remember the last time I had pancakes, or wanted pancakes, I wanted to try these ones. So, with a couple adjustments and some lovely Sugar-Free Blueberry Sauce I enjoyed these for breakfast one morning. I hope you do too.

I do suggest making the blueberry sauce before you start the pancakes, to give the chia seeds time to work their magic.

Chocolate Chip Protein Pancakes (Serves 1-2)
1/4 cup protein powder (I used Natural Vega One, which has a light vanilla flavour)*
1/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 cup rolled oats
1/8 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
2/3 cup water
Vegan chocolate chips, to taste (I used 2 1/2 tsp Enjoy Life Mini Chips)
*You can use whatever protein powder you like here, just make sure its one that you enjoy the flavour of, because you will be able to taste it in these pancakes.

Mix the dry ingredients together, then stir in the water. Warm a pan on medium heat and spray lightly with oil. Pour the pancake batter onto the pan and sprinkle with chocolate chips. You can make a couple of large-ish pancakes or some smaller ones, like I did. The pancakes are ready to flip when they will move easily around on the pan. Flip, and cook for another minute or two. Repeat.

Sugar-Free Blueberry Sauce
1/2 cup frozen blueberries
1/2 tsp ground chia
5 drops liquid stevia

Place blueberries in a microwave-safe dish (I use a glass measuring cup) and defrost in the microwave. They should yield to pressure, and look like the second photo, after a good stir. You want at least half, but not all of the blueberries to be squished. Stir the ground chia and stevia into the blueberries and set aside until ready to use.

When pancakes are done, plate and cover in your Sugar-Free Blueberry Sauce. Enjoy!

I may just have to rethink this whole no-pancake thing.

You May Also Enjoy:
Chocolate Almond Chia Pudding, Blueberry Coconut Crumble Bars, Cinnamon Power Granola

One thought on “Chocolate Chip Protein Pancakes with Sugar-Free Blueberry Sauce

  1. Pingback: Blueberry Blackberry Chia Jam | One Small Vegan

Leave a Reply

