My Breakfast This Morning: Chickpea Flour Omelette

Vegan MoFo 2012 Post #16

This morning I woke up hungry, but with no clue at to what I wanted for breakfast. I staggered around the kitchen a bit but none of the usual suspects like toast, fruit, cereal, tofu scramble, or oatmeal seemed very appealing.

So I turned on my computer and took a look at my Vegan Breakfasts to Try board on Pinterest. As soon as I looked at the recipe for this Chickpea Flour Omelette from Vegan Richa I knew I had found my breakfast. This is exactly why I love Pinterest! Even half asleep I could easily choose my breakfast from all the beautiful photos laid out for me!

This was more like a savoury stuffed pancake than an omelette (though I think the black salt would have given a more eggy taste) but it was delicious! I stuffed mine with spinach, bell peppers, diced pickled jalapeño, and Earth’s Island Vegan Cheddar. So good!

This was also very quick and easy to throw together, which is especially appreciated in the mornings. In the few months before I went vegan last year I was pretty much obsessed with veggie and cheese stuffed omelettes, and this recipe was the closest I’ve come to recreating that. I would eat this any time of day, and will definitely be making it again!

Anyway, while I did change a couple minor things, the recipe is essentially the same, so I’m just going to share my changes instead of writing out the whole recipe again.

As Richa suggested, I used ground chia seeds in place of the oat flour. I did have to add about 1/8 cup extra water to my batter, probably because of this.

I left out the black salt, as I don’t have any (yet).

Also, I chose to sprinkle my veggies and cheese on top of the batter once it was spread in the pan, rather than mixing it right into the batter. Because of this I didn’t flip my entire omelette over. I just cooked it for longer on the one side, and then folded it in half.

You should definitely try this Chickpea Flour Omelette!

Updates (Nov 24, 2012):
I’ve made this Chickpea Flour Omelette a few more times in the past month and it has been wonderful each time!
I’ve used both a combination of ground flax and chia seeds, and just flax seeds and both ways worked well. The only difference I noticed is that I had to add a bit more water when using the ground chia seeds.
I finally found some black salt and tried it in this omelette yesterday. It really does have an eggy sort of taste. I was scared it would taste too much like eggs, but it was just enough. I will definitely be using the black salt in this from now on, but if you don’t have any, sea salt works just fine.
And while we’re talking salt, I’ve been using only 1/8 tsp salt, instead of the 1/4 tsp stated in the recipe, only because I like putting some vegan cheese in my omelette, which is already salty enough for me.

8 thoughts on “My Breakfast This Morning: Chickpea Flour Omelette

  1. Pingback: Sunshine Award | One Small Vegan

  2. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #134 | One Small Vegan

  3. Pingback: Vegan Scrambled ‘Eggs’? Yes! | One Small Vegan

  4. Pingback: My Most Made Recipes | One Small Vegan

  5. Yummy!

    Love your Chickpea Flour Omelette and would like to link to your recipe on the Vegan Mofo round up post on my blog this Friday.

    Sandra

    P.S. Connect with me on Facebook (CandidaDietPlan), @candidadiettips on Twitter and Sandra Boehner on Pinterest so you see when the post goes live 😉

  6. Pingback: Pumpkin Cornbread Waffles | One Small Vegan

Leave a Reply

