The Top 5 Reasons to Drink Lemon Water

Vegan MoFo 2012 Post #12

Let’s talk water. We all know how much we are supposed to drink; most sources say at least 8 cups. And most of us, myself included, probably don’t get enough.

While I’m probably still not drinking enough, I have been drinking a lot more water lately than I previously had been. This is thanks to three things: I can track my water intake along with my food & exercise on My Fitness Pal, I discovered I will drink a lot more water if I’m drinking it with a straw (so I now have a tumbler and straw devoted to water), and I’ve started adding lemon to my water.

I don’t know about anyone else, but I find water really boring. Yes, it quenches my thirst, but I’d much rather be drinking some iced herbal tea, non-dairy milk, or especially this time of year, any sort of hot drink.

Plus, I really don’t like the taste of water. Yes, if I’m super thirsty or the water is really cold I’ll chug it back and not even taste it. But to actually get anywhere near 8 glasses a day, water needs some help. Yes, filtering or boiling it does help, but what I’ve discovered really makes a huge difference for me, is adding just a little bit of lemon. With the addition of lemon, plain old boring water becomes something I actually want to drink!

And if you need some other reasons to drink lemon water, check out the following article recently posted on the Vega Blog about the Top Five (Health) Reasons to Drink Lemon Water.

Happy Friday everyone!

One thought on “The Top 5 Reasons to Drink Lemon Water

  1. Lemon water is the best. I love to boil water and pour it into a mug with fresh squeezed lemon juice every morning. It’s like hot lemon tea and it’s perfect for this time of year. My mom started using the same tumbler + lemon juice trick over the summer to encourage herself to drink more water and she said it works for her, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

