Zucchini Noodles with Creamy Jalapeño Avocado Sauce

Vegan MoFo 2012 Post #9

Better With Veggies

If you’ve tried Angela’s Creamy Avocado Pasta, or seen my post about it then it’s very easy to see where the idea for this sauce came from. I needed a quick sauce to pair with some zucchini noodles and had some jalapeños on hand, in the hopes that I’d come up with something for Meatless Monday A-Z hosted by Better With Veggies (which I’ve missed every single week of so far).

This sauce is super quick and simple to throw together and is really good! Fantastically creamy from the avocado, with the bright spicy flavour combo of lime and jalapeño. And don’t run away if you don’t like spicy foods! Just use two jalapeños instead of one, and leave out all of the seeds and ribs. You’ll get the flavour, without the heat!

Creamy Jalapeño Avocado Sauce (Yeilds 1/2 – 2/3 cup sauce)
Flesh of 1 ripe avocado
Zest of 1 lime
Juice of 1 lime (about 1/4 cup)
1 jalapeño, diced (the more seeds and ribs you leave in the spicier your sauce will be)
1/8 tsp sea salt

Place all ingredients in a blender or food processor (use a small one or a small bowl) and blend thoroughly. The lime juice will stop the sauce from browning, so in a sealed container this will keep in the fridge for at least a few days. The liquid may separate a bit, so just stir it before using.

Nutritional Information (approximately 1/3 of the recipe): 88 calories, 6g carbs, 8g (healthy) fats, 0g protein, 0g sugar, 188mg sodium.

I enjoyed this sauce a couple times tossed with zucchini noodles and topped with a scoop of Smoked Paprika Lentils, which I adapted from The Best Darn Lentils from Jae Steele‘s book Ripe From Around Here. I have this book on loan from the library and am loving it so far. I really don’t want to give it back. The recipes I’ve tried have been great and these really are the best lentils (if you are wondering, the flavour is heavily smoked paprika based)! So good I may have eaten them by themselves a couple times! I enjoyed them all week long on this pasta, in wraps, on a baked yam, and on salads. I have a really difficult time following recipes without changing a bunch of things, so I know it’s a great cookbook when I want to try a lot of the recipes without changing anything.

For the zucchini noodles, I used my new Julienne Peeler. I never even knew these peelers existed until I read Angela’s post about them. I looked for one next time I was in a cooking store and was surprised to find a couple amongst all the kitchen utensils and gadgets. Mine is OXO brand. I love how easy this little gadget makes it to make noodles out of vegetables. My zucchini intake has definitely risen quite a bit since I bought my julienne peeler! While you can eat the noodles raw, I find them a little difficult to eat, because they are really straight. You can solve this problem by sautéing them just until they soften up.

I also ate the last bit of this Jalapeno Avocado Sauce spread on some Black Pepper & Olive Oil Triscuits. Yum!

You May Also Enjoy:
Creamy Avocado Pasta, Avocado Toast with Balsamic Vinegar, or Southwest Confetti Quinoa Salad

6 thoughts on “Zucchini Noodles with Creamy Jalapeño Avocado Sauce

  1. I missed so many A to Z’s–thank goodness for jalapenos, they are just too much fun to pass on! Love the idea of an avocado spread–and The Best Lentils. I really want to try this recipe and see now ;D

  2. Pingback: Smoked Paprika Lentils | One Small Vegan

  3. Let me tell you, I have just started looking for quick healthy recipes and happened upon your website. The recipes are great and simple. I can’t wait to try them.

Leave a Reply

