Apple Fig Oatmeal

 

Vegan MoFo 2012 Post #8

Do you love fall? I do! I’ve been loving the cooler weather we’ve had in the past couple of weeks. I have no problem saying goodbye to my flip-flops and have been starting to get cozy in boots, sweaters, jackets, and scarves (not all at once yet, but soon). I’ve also noticed that in the past few weeks I cannot get enough hot tea and oatmeal! You can expect quite a few oatmeal and porridge recipes coming up.

Let’s start with this Apple Fig Oatmeal. This oatmeal is very simple compared to my usual kind of porridge. I admit, when it comes to porridge and granola I have a tendency to stuff as much good stuff in it as I possibly can.

This oatmeal is a direct result of me buying dried figs for the very first time. Believe it or not, up until one month ago, I had never tried a fig before. Not a dried one or a fresh one. Fig Newton’s don’t count right? No, I didn’t think so.

Apple Fig Oatmeal (Yields 4 Cups)
2 1/2 cups water
1 1/2 cups rolled oats (not quick oats)
1/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce
2 tbsp chia seeds
5 dried figs, chopped
1/2 large apple, chopped
2 tbsp coconut sugar (Sucanat or brown sugar would also work)

Bring the water to a boil over medium-high heat. Reduce heat to medium-low and stir in all ingredient. Cook, stirring often until water is absorbed and oats are cooked. Enjoy!

As always, this makes enough for several servings. I like to make one pot of oatmeal and enjoy it for breakfast for a few days. Especially on dark fall/winter mornings when it’s difficult to wake up, it’s nice knowing a hot hearty breakfast is only one minute away.

This recipe has been submitted to Healthy Vegan Friday #12. You can check out the other submissions here.

You May Also Enjoy:
Chocolate Almond Porridge, Peach Blueberry Crisp, Peanut Butter Porridge

2 thoughts on “Apple Fig Oatmeal

  1. Pingback: Cinnamon Power Granola | One Small Vegan

Leave a Reply

