Let’s Start Vegan MoFo 2012 with Peach Blueberry Crisp

Vegan MoFo 2012 Post #1

Today is the first day of Vegan MoFo 2012 and I am happy that I got myself organized enough to start it out right, with an actual recipe post. Hope you enjoy and happy Vegan MoFo whether you are participating or not!

One thing about summer I look forward to each year (especially the last few) is berry season! We always make a point of stopping by one of the local farm markets or roadside stands (that only pop up during berry season) to buy huge amounts of cheap, fresh, local berries. While I don’t care so much about the strawberries, I can’t get enough of blueberries and raspberries!

Of course we do enjoy them fresh throughout the season, but the main point of our bulk buy is to load up the freezer for the fall and winter. It is a bit of a chore to wash, pick through, and freeze so many berries at once, but it is definitely worth it. I’ve mentioned before that I use berries in almost everything: smoothies, ice cream, waffles, and every kind of baked good I can get them into. I might end up buying a couple of bags of frozen berries in the spring if I’m really needing some berries for my smoothies, but for most of the year I enjoy knowing that my berries came from only 15 minutes away (at the most, 30 minutes) and never had to go through the processing and packaging cycle.

Anyway, enough about berries. Lets talk peaches! Around the same time of year that we get fresh local berries, it is also peach (and apricot, plum, nectarine) season in the Okanogan (a few hours away from where we live) and they flood every store and farm market at really good prices. While I’ve never been a huge fan of any of these stone-fruits before, I have been buying small amounts this summer, mostly for baking and smoothies.

This Peach Blueberry Crisp is all about the fresh fruit (even though you can’t see it in the above photo)! I made it with fresh blueberries and peaches I had bought the same day. I love this topping, but the star of this is the fruit, so use whatever is in season wherever you are. I’ve never tried a fruit combination in a crisp that wasn’t great!

Peach Blueberry Crisp
4 medium-large peaches, peeled and diced
1 cup blueberries
1 tbsp cornstarch
1 cup large flake oats
3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 cup coconut sugar (or brown sugar)
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp sea salt
1/2 cup chopped pecans
1/2 cup canola or (melted) coconut oil

Preheat oven to 375°. Place diced peaches in a 8 x 8 inch (20cm x 20cm) pan and sprinkle with corn starch. Toss together to coat peaches. Sprinkle blueberries over top of the peaches. You can mix them together, but it will turn everything purple and you’ll lose the colour of the peaches. Yours should look different from my photo below, as I actually forgot to use the corn starch.

In a medium bowl mix together the oats, flour, sugar, cinnamon, salt, and pecans. Pour in the oil and mix thoroughly until everything is moistened and it is clumping together.

Spread this mixture over top of the fruit. Place in preheated oven and bake for 35-45 minutes, until the fruit is bubbling and the topping is lightly browned. Enjoy!

And feel free to enjoy your fruit crisp for breakfast the next morning. I always do!

You Might Also Enjoy:
Peach Cornmeal Cake, Blueberry Coconut Crumble Bars, or Peanut Butter Porridge

5 thoughts on “Let’s Start Vegan MoFo 2012 with Peach Blueberry Crisp

  1. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #85: Fall Into Good Habits | One Small Vegan

  2. Pingback: Apple Fig Oatmeal | One Small Vegan

  3. Pingback: Cinnamon Power Granola | One Small Vegan

Leave a Reply

