Spicy Lime Tofu Nuggets

Remember, back when I made Tofu Balls for the first time I mentioned baking them as little nuggets and playing around with the flavours? These lovely little Spicy Lime Tofu Nuggets are my first result of that experimentation. I’ve swapped the peanut butter for spicy chili pepper hummus and added lime juice and zest. Then, instead of rolling into balls and frying, I make mini patties and bake them in the oven. I had meant to try coating these in panko breadcrumbs before baking, but I didn’t remember until they were already in the oven. Maybe next time!

Spicy Lime Tofu Nuggets
1 lb firm or extra-firm tofu
Zest and juice of 1 lime
1 tbsp Braggs
3 tbsp spicy hummus (chili pepper, chipotle, jalapeño)*
1/2 cup breadcrumbs
1/3 cup flour (any kind) for coating
* If you don’t have any spicy hummus on hand, feel free to use plain hummus and add a hot pepper or some spice powder into the mixture to give these spiciness.

Gently press excess water out of tofu. Using your hands, crumble tofu into a medium-sized bowl. I like to cut the tofu into pieces first, and then crumble the pieces. Zest lime over bowl, then slice lime and add juice to the bowl as well. Now add the Braggs, hummus, and breadcrumbs to the bowl.

Using a fork, thoroughly mix everything together until it starts to clump together.

Preheat oven to 350°F and lightly grease a large baking sheet. Measure flour into a small shallow dish. Using a 1/8 cup scoop, scoop out tofu mixture and release into your palm.

Shape mixture between palms to form a little patty.

Set down patty in flour and turn over to lightly coat. Place on baking sheet.

Lightly spray patties with oil and place in oven. Bake for 20-25 minutes. You can flip these half-way through, but it isn’t necessary.

Enjoy!

Sorry, I forgot to count, but this makes quite a few little nuggets! I enjoyed them on their own, in a wrap, with salad, and crumbled over pasta. How did you enjoy them?

You May Also Enjoy:
Tofu Balls, Chipotle Lime Cashew Cream, or Spicy Peanut Vegetable Soup

5 thoughts on “Spicy Lime Tofu Nuggets

  1. These look really good! I’ve been grilling and baking my tofu or pan frying it. But this is something I need to try. I’m going to check out your tofu balls recipe too. Thank God for food blogs, where else would I get my food inspiration?

  2. Pingback: Baked Vegetable Spring Rolls | One Small Vegan

  3. Pingback: Southwest Confetti Quinoa Salad with Chipotle Vinaigrette | One Small Vegan

  4. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #85: Fall Into Good Habits | One Small Vegan

Leave a Reply

