What I Ate Wednesday #87 & Fitness Update

So, apparently I can no longer remember to take photos of my food for an entire day anymore. I totally missed last week’s WIAW and forgot to take photos for today’s. I do have some food for you though, it just comes in the form of random meals I’ve had over the past two weeks. Enjoy!

BBQ dinner with the (omnivore) family: a baked potato with Daiya Jalapeño Garlic Havarti, grilled Soyganic Smoked Tofu with some spicy BBQ sauce, corn on the cob (so good all it needed was a bit of pepper)

Spinach Salad: 1 1/2 cups baby spinach, 1/4 cup chopped cucumber, 1/4 cup chopped red pepper, 1/8 cup chopped carrot, 1 tbsp hemp hearts, crumbled Daiya Jalapeno Garlic Havarti, diced Soyganic Smoked Tofu (sautéed briefly in a pan then splashed with some balsamic vinegar), 1 tbsp cranberry orange vinaigrette. This was so good I ate almost the exact same thing two days in a row!

Amy’s California Burger on a whole wheat bun w/ red pepper hummus, Daiya Jalapeño Garlic Havarti, and romaine lettuce. With some baby dill pickles.

A Silver Hills Rappleberry Bagel with Plain Tofutti Better Than Cream Cheese, fresh ground black pepper, and some mini carrots.

A Yves Veggie Chicken Burger sautéed with a few crimini mushrooms and fresh parsley with romaine lettuce and cucumber. All sprinkled with balsamic vinegar and crushed red pepper flakes.

Green Quinoa Bowl: Spinach Herb Quinoa*, half an avocado mashed with lemon juice,  zucchini cut with my new julienne peeler, black pepper, and crushed red pepper flakes.

Steamed edamame with sea salt, roasted red pepper hummus with Sriracha mixed in, Ryvita Sesame Crispbread.

Sautéed Asparagus Salad: green leaf lettuce, cucumber, black olives, dried cranberries, Tahini Sauce*, crushed red pepper flakes, and sautéed asparagus slices (just until green intensifies)

*Recipes, and more photos and info are coming soon for these!

The theme for this month’s WIAW is ‘Fall into Good Habits’ and two weeks ago in my WIAW #85 post I talked about how in an attempt to start exercising regularly again, eat better, and lose a bit of weight I’ve started using My Fitness Pal.

So far things are going pretty good. I have been consistently logging my food, water, and exercise in My Fitness Pal for over two weeks now and it is definitely helping me to be more aware of what I am eating and make some wiser choices (despite all the faux-cheese featuring meals pictured above). Also, I’m really loving the water counter in the program, as I can really easily keep track of how much water I am drinking. While I never really kept track of my water intake before, I know that in the two weeks since I started using this program, I am definitely drinking a lot more water than I used to.

As for exercise, in the past two weeks I’ve done three good 40-55 minute workouts on the Wii Fit, done the Level 1 Workout from the Jillian Michaels Yoga Meltdown DVD (its aerobics all based on yoga poses) three times, and walked to or from work (a 35-min brisk walk) about five times. Plus I’m back to 40 hour weeks at work, which means a 15 minute walk to and from (if I take the bus part way), and being on my feet and lightly active for 7 1/2 hours a day.

In the past 2 1/2 weeks I’ve lost 2.5 pounds and am still feeling motivated to stick with my goals!

Bye for now! I hope everyone has a lovely day!

9 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #87 & Fitness Update

    • Thanks! It was just some Soyganic Smoked Tofu I coated with some spicy BBQ sauce (I don’t even know what kind, it wasn’t from my kitchen) and heated up on the BBQ. And of course dipped in more sauce!

  1. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #89 | One Small Vegan

  2. Pingback: WIAW #91 – Wraps! | One Small Vegan

  3. Pingback: Keeping Leafy Greens Fresh | One Small Vegan

Leave a Reply

