Avocado Toast with Balsamic Vinegar

I featured this super simple meal on last week’s What I Ate Wednesday post, but I wanted to share some more information and photos with you. The idea for this came from this Avocado Bruschetta with Balsamic Syrup from TasteFood. Basically, I’d been drooling over this for a while, had a ripe avocado to use, and was too lazy (or starving) to make the balsamic syrup. So I used the same basic ingredients of avocado, bread, balsamic vinegar, and lemon juice to very quickly make this yummy Avocado Toast with Balsamic Vinegar.

I’ve got to give a big thank you to Lynda over at TasteFood; I never would have thought of putting avocado and balsamic vinegar together, but it is amazing! I’ve eaten this about 5 times in the past month or so, for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and thoroughly enjoyed it every time! I use any variety of Silver Hills bread for this because I think a heartier whole grain bread balances out the richness of the avocado well (plus its usually the only bread I buy), but feel free to choose whatever kind of bread you like.

Avocado Toast with Balsamic Vinegar
1 avocado, ripe but still a bit firm is best
2 pieces bread
2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
1 tbsp lemon juice
Sea salt
Fresh ground black pepper

Put bread in a toaster to toast. I prefer it quite browned for this.
Combine balsamic vinegar and lemon juice in a small bowl.
Pit and slice the avocado. I like to slice each half of the avocado while still in the skin, and then scoop out the slices with a large spoon.
When bread is finished toasting, brush one side of each slice generously with the balsamic mixture.
Arrange avocado slices on the brushed sides of the toast.
Brush avocado with more balsamic mixture.
Top with sea salt and fresh ground black pepper to taste. I prefer a tiny bit of salt and a lot of pepper.

Enjoy!

You Might Also Enjoy:
Creamy Avocado Pasta

9 thoughts on “Avocado Toast with Balsamic Vinegar

  1. Pingback: I’m Back For What I Ate Wednesday #84 | One Small Vegan

  2. Pingback: Southwest Confetti Quinoa Salad with Chipotle Vinaigrette | One Small Vegan

  3. Pingback: Zucchini Noodles with Creamy Jalapeño Avocado Sauce and the Best Lentils | One Small Vegan

  4. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #128 | One Small Vegan

  5. Pingback: My Most Made Recipes | One Small Vegan

Leave a Reply

