Creamy Avocado Pasta & Faux Parmesan

I’ve been eyeing Angela’s recipe for 15 Minute Creamy Avocado Pasta for a few months now and I finally got around to trying it out. I have been obsessed with avocados lately but I always seem to have some other way I want to eat them. Well I finally got around to trying this pasta sauce – I needed a quick dinner and I had a very ripe avocado begging to be used – and I am so glad I did!

I served my pasta with steamed broccoli and decided to make some Almesan (faux grated Parmesan) because I wanted something pretty to sprinkle on top of my pasta dish. I made this combination from looking at a few different recipes.

Almesan
1/4 cup sliced or slivered almonds
1 1/2 tbsp raw sesame seeds
1/4 tsp sea salt
2 tbsp nutritional yeast

Add all ingredients to a food processor. Process until ground into fine crumbs. Store in a well sealed container.

Both recipes can be made in the time it takes for water to come to a boil, and your pasta to cook. Using my mini food processor, I first made the Almesan, transferred it to a container, then made the avocado sauce.

For the sauce, I followed Angela’s recipe, but left out the garlic and used 2 1/2 teaspoons bottled lemon juice in place of the fresh.

I really loved this sauce! It is super creamy but doesn’t feel heavy like a lot of vegan cheese sauces can. The discovery of a new pasta sauce is a big thing for me as I love pasta, but don’t like any kind of tomato-based sauce! I will definitely be making this again.

I had pasta and sauce leftover. I took it with me for lunch the next day and ate it at room temperature, and I think I enjoyed it even more than heated the night before! (Because of the lemon juice, the avocado won’t brown.)

Questions
Do you have a favourite brand of or recipe for vegan grated parmesan?

Have you tried using avocado as a pasta sauce? Or a sauce for something else?

Do you have any must try avocado recipes?

4 thoughts on “Creamy Avocado Pasta & Faux Parmesan

  1. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #80 | One Small Vegan

  2. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #79 & Everybody Loves Veggies | One Small Vegan

  3. Pingback: Zucchini Noodles with Creamy Jalapeño Avocado Sauce and the Best Lentils | One Small Vegan

  4. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #97 | One Small Vegan

Leave a Reply

