What I Ate Wednesday #79 & Everybody Loves Veggies

Or rather, what I ate Monday July 23.

Breakfast:
2 blueberry almond waffles (home-made ones I had in the freezer) with Earth Balance and agave syrup (because I couldn’t get my maple syrup bottle to open).
Tetley Bold Orange Pekoe Tea with So Nice For Coffee creamer.

Lunch:
Millet Lentil Salad with added cucumbers.
1/2 an apple.

Snack:
2 mugs of Organic Green Mate tea
2 Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies. (I finally baked the dough I had from our For the Freezer Day.

Dinner:
Vegetable stir fry (carrots, orange pepper, broccoli, sui choy, peanuts) with sauce (hoisin sauce, rice wine vinegar, Bragg’s, Siracha hot sauce) and roasted sesame seeds over green tea noodles (I had to try them, but they were only okay. I don’t think I’d buy them again).

Snacks:
2 squares Giddy Yoyo Raw Organic Ginger Dark Chocolate (I got this in my package from this month’s Vegan Food Swap. More on this in a few days).
Nature’s Path flake cereal (I mix a few different kinds in my cereal keeper) with hemp hearts, cinnamon, and unsweetened soy milk.

Here are some other things I’ve been eating over the past week:

From left:
1) Salad: green leaf lettuce, spinach, orange peppers, cooked buckwheat, cucumber, dried cranberries, hemp hearts, chia seeds, pickled chopped banana peppers with balsamic vinaigrette. Chipotle Seasoned Sweet Potato Fries
2) Yves Veggie Chicken Burger on a whole wheat bun with Veganaise, Siracha hot sauce, spinach, and dill pickles.
3) Whole wheat rotini with Creamy Avocado Sauce, Almesan, and steamed broccoli.

Also, yesterday I ate at a little vegetarian/vegan place called Everybody Loves Veggies for the first time. It is located in the food court at City Square 555 West 12th Avenue, Vancouver. (I stumbled upon this place because it is just down the street from Vancouver General Hospital, where I’ve been spending a lot of time lately.) They had a nice selection of salads, sandwiches, stews (with rice), and a daily soup. You can buy things individually or make combos with 2 different things. Everything looked really good!
For lunch I had an Avocado Cucumber Sandwich and Couscous Salad. The sandwich was just avocado, cucumber, and Veganaise on some really fresh light rye bread (I think) but it was very good. The salad seemed to be just couscous, roasted eggplant, fresh parsley, and some sort of dressing. It was also really tasty. I also got a Double Chocolate (vegan!) cookie for later. It was super soft, chewy, and very chocolatey! Yum!
From what I tried, and how everything else looked, this is like eating someones simple home cooking. Simple, but very well done. I really enjoyed my lunch and will definitely be eating here some more. Definitely better than the food court at VGH!
Unfortunately I didn’t have my camera to take photos, and they don’t have a website but for more information and to get a closer look at some of the food you can check out these two videos: One Two

2 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #79 & Everybody Loves Veggies

Leave a Reply

