Chocolate Vega Macaroons

Let me just start by saying that these chocolate macaroons are far too good! It took massive amounts of willpower for me to not eat them all day, every day until they were gone! So, if you are a chocolate fiend like I am, I suggest making sure you have people to share these treats with. Or, perhaps you won’t want to share them at all.

I adapted this recipe from these Cocoa Coconut Bits over at the Sprouted Kitchen. When I first tried the recipe, I was curious as to how the addition of Chocolate Vega would be like, so I divided the recipe in half and added Vega to only one half. Trying both kinds one after the other, I’ve decided that I prefer the taste and texture of the Vega macaroons to the original recipe. I’m sure that you could replace the Vega with a different brand of protein or meal replacement powder, but just make sure that it is one you enjoy the taste of. The taste of the Vega is not overpowering but is definitely noticeable in the final product.

Also, I use cocoa powder and toasted carob powder here, as I do in almost all of my chocolate recipes. Carob powder is not actually chocolate, but tastes similar. While it does have a higher natural sugar content than cocoa, it is lower in fat, caffeine-free, and is a source of calcium and iron. Carob is also free of theobromine, thenylthylamine and tyramine, all three of which can trigger headaches and migraines in some people.* I really like the taste of carob, though it may take some getting used to if you are substituting it for chocolate, and I enjoy the complex chocolate flavour I get in baked goods from using both cocoa and carob powder.

Chocolate Vega Macaroons
1 1/2 cups dried unsweetened coconut
1/3 cup oats (I used quick, but I’m sure large flake would be fine)
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1/4 cup carob powder
1/3 cup Chocolate Vega One
1/2 tsp cinnamon
pinch sea salt
1/4 cup coconut oil
1/3 cup maple syrup
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Add all of the dry ingredients to a medium bowl and stir to combine. If necessary, heat the coconut oil until it is mostly liquid. Add the coconut oil, maple syrup, and vanilla to the other ingredients and stir until everything is moistened and clumping together. Refrigerate for at least 20 minutes.

Now preheat oven to 225°. Using a mini-scoop, a 1 tbsp measuring spoon, or your hands, make 1 inch balls and set on a lightly greased baking sheet. These won’t spread at all, so you can put them quite close together. Bake for 18 to 20 minutes. Let cool for 10 minutes before removing them from pan. Enjoy!

These can also be enjoyed raw. Just scoop the prepared mixture into balls, refrigerate and enjoy!

http://www.carobana.com.au/carob.html
http://www.livestrong.com/article/397311-nutritional-information-for-carob-powder/

This post has been entered Healthy Vegan Fridays hosted by Shelby at Everyday Vegan Girl, Gabby at Veggie Nook, and Carrie at Carrie On Vegan.

11 thoughts on “Chocolate Vega Macaroons

  1. Pingback: July’s Vegan Food Swap | Earthgiven

  2. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #78 | One Small Vegan

  3. Pingback: Dark Chocolate Cranberry Tart | One Small Vegan

  4. Pingback: Chocolate Almond Chia Pudding | One Small Vegan

  5. I made these on a whim as I had all the ingredients and was looking for recipes incorporating Vega One.. They are so chocolatey and chewy! Thanks!

  6. Pingback: Gorilla Food, Take 2 | One Small Vegan

Leave a Reply

