Tofu Balls!

As I showed in my WIAW post this week, I recently made a recipe for Tofu Balls from the Post Punk Kitchen for the first time (shown above with whole wheat rotini, sun-dried tomato pesto and spinach). I’ve had the recipe pinned for quite a while and now that I’ve tried them, I wish I had done it sooner! I really enjoyed the simplicity of the recipe and the moist, light texture. I will definitely be making these again! I’ve already been thinking of some different flavours and add-ins I would like to try. Also, I’d like to try forming the recipe into small patties and baking them in the oven. Isa’s recipe can be found here. I made a few minor changes and my version is below, along with some step-by-step photos.

Tofu Balls
1lb extra firm tofu (I used Soyganic Herb Extra Firm)
3 tbsp Bragg Liquid Aminos
3 tbsp natural peanut butter
1/2 cup bread crumbs
1/2 tsp crushed dried chiles (optional)
flour for coating (I used whole wheat)

In a bowl, crumble the tofu using your hands. I find it easiest to cut it into small cubes first and then crumble those. It will look like this:

Now add in the Bragg’s, peanut butter, bread crumbs, and crushed chiles. Mix with a fork or your hands until well combined and sticking together. It should look like this:

Put some flour into a small bowl. Roll mixture into 1 to 1 1/2 inch balls. Roll each one in the flour to coat, before setting aside. I made all of them and set out on a plate, before I fried them.

Isa’s recipe says it makes 12-16, but I got 23 out of it, so maybe mine were a lot smaller.

Fry these balls in a preheated, oiled skillet until they are light to medium browned on all sides.

Enjoy!

In addition to the pasta dish in the first photo, I also enjoyed these with some pineapple rice, and once just by themselves dipped in a little chipotle hot sauce.

2 thoughts on “Tofu Balls!

  1. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #78 | One Small Vegan

Leave a Reply

