Chunky Hummus Dip & Baked Corn Chips

As I know is common for vegetarians and vegans, I almost always have hummus in my fridge. Especially when I had first turned vegan and was still sharing a kitchen with my omnivore family, having hummus available gave me instant options in terms of quick meals and snacks. I use it as a dip for veggies, crackers, crisp breads, and chips. I spread it on toast and in my sandwiches and wraps. I use it as pasta sauce. I thin it out with water and use it as salad dressing.

I also like making this Chunky Hummus Dip to eat with crackers and crisp breads. Instead of dipping vegetables in the hummus, I dice them up and mix them into it, creating a great chunky dip/spread. I usually use whatever veggies I have, almost always using cucumber and bell peppers, but I’ve also added olives, fresh herbs, spinach, cabbage, and zucchini. Obviously this would work with any flavour of hummus. I especially like roasted red pepper, or spicy ones such as chipotle, jalapeno, or chili pepper.

Chunky Hummus Dip
1 1/2 to 2 cups diced mixed vegetables (cucumber, red bell pepper, carrot, artichoke hearts, banana peppers)
1 tbsp hemp hearts (or chia seeds)
1-2 tsp lemon or lime juice (whichever will go better with the flavours of your hummus)
about 1/2 C hummus (just enough to make the veggies stick together)

Put diced vegetables, hemp hearts, and citrus juice in a small bowl and mix well. Add hummus and mix until everything is sticking together. I don’t usually measure this, so you may need some more hummus. Feel free to add anything else that seems good to you. Serve with crackers, crisp breads, or chips.
I find that this recipe is enough for one meal for me if this is all I’m having, so if making for multiple people you may need to double or triple it. Enjoy!

Before hummus.

With hummus.

 As you can see in the first photo, I had my dip this time with some baked corn chips. These were homemade in the sense that I cut up some bought corn tortillas that needed to be used up and baked them in the oven.

Baked Corn Chips
Cut some small corn tortillas into triangles.
Arrange the triangles on a baking sheet and mist them with oil (I use olive oil in a Misto).
You could add some salt or spices at this point, but I left mine plain.
Bake in a 375° oven for 10-12 minutes.

Before baking.

After baking.

These chips were much thicker and crunchier than store-bought taco corn chips. They were also really quick to do. It only takes a minute to cut them up and I made the humus dip while they were in the oven. I really enjoyed them and can definitely see doing this again.

Questions
Do you also have a hummus addiction?

Do you use hummus in any ways I didn’t mention?

Do you ever bake your own chips?
I’ve tried baked potato chips a couple of times, and I love making kale chips. This is the first time I’ve turned tortillas into chips.

3 thoughts on “Chunky Hummus Dip & Baked Corn Chips

  1. Pingback: Baked Vegetable Spring Rolls | One Small Vegan

  2. This looks delish! I can’t wait to try it. I love hummus and have made so many different kinds. Some of my favorite recipes are beet, pumpkin, and spinach artichoke. I have been trying to get my oldest daughter to enjoy/appreciate hummus forever. I finally came up with one she likes: pizza hummus. I use nutritional yeast for the cheese flavor, lots of garlic and oregano, and tomato paste. Thanks for sharing your chip recipe also.

Leave a Reply

