Penne with Mushrooms & Sun-dried Tomato Pesto

So, my sister Jem was over and we needed a quick dinner. She loves mushrooms, but never eats them at home because her fiancé can’t stand them. I had a big pile of white button mushrooms that needed to be used, and we had just made sun-dried tomato pesto  (based on this one from Oh She Glows) a few days before, that I had yet to try. This is what we ended up with:

This isn’t really a recipe, as it only involves mushrooms, whole wheat penne (I like Barilla – the only ingredient is whole wheat flour), and pesto, but I’ll show you anyway.

While your pasta is cooking, rinse your mushrooms and cut into slices. Add to a pan on medium heat with a light spray of oil. Let cook, stirring occasionally, for about 7-10 minutes. I love cooking mushrooms! Just when it seems like nothing is happening with them, then they start to release their moisture, and a couple of minutes later they are perfect. Almost like magic.

When first put into the pan.

7-10 minutes later.

While the pasta and mushrooms are cooking, defrost your pesto a bit if it is frozen. We froze our pesto in cubes so its easy to take and defrost just what is needed. I just took a few cubes out, put them in a bowl and put it in the microwave for about 30 seconds. When the pasta is cooked, drain it, then stir in the pesto. Add the mushrooms and you end up with a quick, easy, super tasty meal! Enjoy!

Questions:
How do you feel about mushrooms?
When mushrooms are cooked I love them, but I really don’t like them raw! I just realized that I am saying ‘mushrooms’ as a group, but I have only tried a few common kinds.

Do you have a favourite pesto recipe?
The one used here is actually the first one I’ve ever made, vegan or otherwise. We pretty much followed the recipe from Oh She Glows (linked in the post above) and it was pretty good, but I’m open to suggestions. Just don’t suggest pine nuts; they are way too expensive!

Leave a Reply

