Chocolate and Peanut Butter for Breakfast!

One thing I love about eating a mostly unprocessed vegan diet is that it is possible to have things like Peanut Butter Porridge sprinkled with chocolate (ok, it was carob powder, but it tastes chocolate-like) for breakfast and not feel guilty about it at all.

There is almost nothing better than the combination of peanut butter and chocolate (and I don’t mean in such things as Reese’s, where the tiny bit of actual peanut and chocolate flavour is completely covered up by tonnes of sugar, hydrogenated oil, dairy, and preservatives) and this porridge is not an exception. I really like oatmeal and I love peanut butter, and other nut butters, but this is actually the first time I’ve put them together! I call it porridge because I like alliteration, and I added some other grains and seeds, to pack in as much nutrition as I could. This is only slightly sweet, so if you prefer your porridge sweet, you might want to add some more sucanat or other sweetener.

Peanut Butter Porridge (2-3 servings)
1 cup oats (not quick oats)
2 cups water
1 tbsp wheat bran
1 tbsp cornmeal
1 tbsp ground flax
1 tbsp chia seeds
1 tbsp hemp hearts
2 tbsp sucanat
1/4 cup natural peanut butter (the only ingredient is peanuts)
1/4 cup chopped dates*
non-dairy milk of your choice
carob or cocoa powder
*This porridge cooks quickly so if you are using pre-chopped dried dates you might need to soak them in some warm water for about 10 minutes before adding them to the porridge (you can also use the soaking water), otherwise they will not have softened yet. I chopped up some softer (where I buy them they are called pitted snacking dates) dates for my porridge.

Soak dates if necessary. Put all ingredients except peanut butter in a medium-sized pot. Cook on medium heat, stirring occasionally, until the water is mostly absorbed and the oats are cooked. Stir in the peanut butter. Spoon some porridge into a bowl and sprinkle with 1/2-1 tsp of carob powder (or cocoa if you prefer). I like mine with some non-dairy milk poured over. Enjoy!

Questions
What is your favourite addition to oatmeal/porridge?
Mine is dates. I love the natural sweetness they give! My go-to oatmeal includes lots of chopped apple, dates, cinnamon, and almonds.

Do you have a favourite vegan breakfast food?
Breakfast for me changes all the time, it usually just depends what I have in the house, how much time I have, and what I feel like. I am definitely not someone who has the same breakfast every day of the week. I tend to switch between toast and fruit, oatmeal, granola, waffles, smoothies, tofu scramble, and potato-based vegetable hash.

4 thoughts on “Chocolate and Peanut Butter for Breakfast!

  1. Pingback: Chocolate and Almonds: Two Ways | One Small Vegan

  2. Pingback: Let’s Start Vegan MoFo 2012 with Peach Blueberry Crisp | One Small Vegan

  3. Pingback: Apple Fig Oatmeal | One Small Vegan

  4. Pingback: Cinnamon Power Granola | One Small Vegan

Leave a Reply

