Can’t Believe I Didn’t Like Pineapple (Bread)

This is actually the first time that I’ve baked with pineapple, as I’ve only been eating it for a few months. For some reason I thought that I didn’t like pineapple (maybe because I don’t enjoy the smell of it), but tried it again on a whim, and loved it. Now I cannot get enough! For me this is a huge deal! Though I love the taste of most fruit, I really don’t like the texture of most of it, so I really have to make an effort to include it in my diet everyday. This is one of the reasons that I started putting fruit (whole and/or puree) into almost everything I bake. I also enjoy a lot of fruit-filled smoothies.

This is my version of Pineapple Coconut Bread, which I adapted from Everyday Vegan Girl. Her recipe can be found here. Obviously pineapple and coconut go very well together, and this bread was really good! The different forms of fruit make this bread quite moist (without the use of any oil) and sweet (with only a small amount of sugar added).

Pineapple Coconut Bread

1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup white sorghum flour (or all-purpose flour)
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp sea salt
1/3 cup sugar (maybe coconut sugar?)
3/4 cup unsweetened pineapple juice
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce (or pineapple puree)*
1/2 cup chopped pineapple
1 cup shredded unsweetened coconut
* The original recipe called for pineapple puree, but I used applesauce because I didn’t have enough pineapple at the time. I think that between the juice and chunks the bread still had lots of pineapple flavour, however I will probably be trying it with the pineapple puree next time. 

Preheat oven to 350°. In a large bowl mix together the flours, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and sugar. In a small bowl whisk together the pineapple juice and applesauce. Pour the liquid into the dry ingredients and stir until it is almost all mixed together. Fold in the pineapple chunks and 3/4 cup of the coconut. Pour batter into a lightly greased 9×5 loaf pan or some mini loaf pans (The original recipe said 2, but I filled 3, and probably should have used 4. Just use your own judgement). Sprinkle with remaining 1/4 cup coconut and bake: 45-50 minutes for a large loaf or 35-40 minutes for mini loafs. Enjoy!

Questions
Are there any foods that you mistakenly thought you didn’t like, but loved once you finally tried them (again)?

What is your favourite fruit to put in baked goods?
I don’t think I really have a favourite. Last winter I made and froze a whole bunch of pumpkin puree, so I’ve been using that a lot. I like using apple sauce in my baking to replace some of the fat, but that isn’t about taste. I also find it very difficult to make muffins without the presence of either blueberries, cranberries, or raspberries.

I keep thinking I should try to incorporate fruit into some savoury dishes as well. Any ideas or suggestions?
One thing I’ve tried recently is putting pineapple in my curried quinoa, and I loved that!

5 thoughts on “Can’t Believe I Didn’t Like Pineapple (Bread)

  1. Pingback: Crazy for Coconut: Blueberry Coconut Crumble Bars | One Small Vegan

  2. Pingback: Peach Cornmeal Cake | One Small Vegan

  3. Pingback: Tropical Pineapple Coconut Oat Cups | One Small Vegan

Leave a Reply

